Cheat Day - what are everyones thoughts?

Options
I'm new to MFP - so I'm sure this topic has come up in the past. Wondering what everyone's opinions and experiences are with "cheat days" or "cheat meals" once a week? I'm torn.

Replies

• TheNewMe28
    Options
    I usually have a cheat day or a cheat meal depending on how my week went. I always make sure that my cheat day is the day after I weigh-in so that I can have the chance to work it off during the week.
  • Pandorian
    Pandorian Posts: 2,055 MFP Moderator
    Options
    I don't, not on a weekly basis anyway. I've had I think 9 days since I started over 100 ago that I went over my 2100 calories. Far better than I was doing before.
    I eat the things that I'll be eating the rest of my life, I still have cheese, yogurt, whole milk, I just have less of it, and realize that I'm full with less than I was before.
  • vanillasugar
    vanillasugar Posts: 246 Member
    Options
    I personally wouldn't recommend a whole cheat day because the calorie count could reeaaaaaaallly add up. But I choose to have a cheat meal (ok, occasionally a cheat day, lol) once every other week. It has worked out good for me, but I am not in a big hurry to lose my weight. I am still going in the direction I want and will reach my goal when I reach my goal and I'm happy with that.
  • funkyspunky871
    funkyspunky871 Posts: 1,675 Member
    Options
    Lifesavers. :) Lol. Especially when I first started a year ago: to know that if I'm good all week, I have a day on the weekend to splurge. It absolutely helped keep me sane. Now... I don't need cheat days so often (except for lately... because I've been pretty stressed and, again, knowing I have a day at the end of the week keeps me from eating everything in sight). I definitely recommend! Now, I'm trying not to have a cheat meal each week, because my cheats turn to full-on binges, and I make myself sick. I think it's starting to affect my weight loss.