Burning calories while giving a massage

Options
Hey, I am a massage therapist and was just curious if there is anyone that know how many calories that you brun during a 1 hour session. Especially if you have 4-5 clients a day and are doing deep work. I have looked online nd have gotten a few quotes but they just don't seem right. I know it will not go for improving my cardio. but, I know I'm burning something.

Replies

• Schuyler
    Schuyler Posts: 78 Member
    Options
    I don't know this for sure, but I wouldn't think that something like that would count as exercise. You might want to change your settings to say that you live a more active lifestyle. MFP will adjust your calorie goals accordingly. To find out how many calories you're burning, buy a HRM. Good luck! :)
  • Angela4Health
    Angela4Health Posts: 1,319 Member
    Options
    I would just change activity level to lightly active for the days of working instead of trying to figure out how many calories are burned per massage.
  • sweetbri07
    sweetbri07 Posts: 150 Member
    Options
    Hi there! I'm also an LMP, and I had found a site that had listed massage as a choice for exercise, so for ME (5'1, 150 lbs), a 60 minute massage burns around 285 calories.

Obviously everyone is different, but considering how hard we work sometimes, I know I break a sweat when I'm giving a massage, especially involving treatment work, so I consider it to be accurate enough.
  • drasr
    drasr Posts: 181
    Options
    A good HRM can help calculate those calories. But since you are not doing something that elevates your Heart Rate by a significant amount, most likely you won't be burning too many calories. Though you will be building more muscle which may indirectly help.
  • drasr
    drasr Posts: 181
    Options
    I would just change activity level to lightly active for the days of working instead of trying to figure out how many calories are burned per massage.