Burning calories while giving a massage

Options
2»

Replies

• CurvyMama87
    Options
    I am currently a massage therapy student and when I calculate each 1 hour Swedish massage I use the tai chi exercise.
  • khianakiwi
    Options
    Hello! What site did you see that on? I do 3.5 to 6 hours a day of deep tissue massage and its def a work out. My quads and gluttes are huge and full of muscle.
  • Happyhealthymassagetherapist
    Options
    I have been practicing massage for 8 years and i average 4-6 clients daily, 5.5 days a week. (2 on saturdays) i do deep and very firm flowing work. I wore a heart rate monitor a few days and it said i averaged 2000-3000+ burned... it was insane. at that moment i realized why i am hungry all the time. i increased my calories from 1200 to 1400-1600...sometimes a bit more. I have lost weight, and every one notices how thin I'm getting. I increased protein but don't add in any calories for doing massage. Someone on another post said, your body gets used to this daily activity, so unless your heart is pumping, don't count it. just add more protein since its a type of strength training, and eat when your hungry but choose smart options. don't carb load and weight loss may start. think more protein, drink a ton of water, and eat 1200-1500 on slower days and increase on busier days at work.
  • 1Missy2
    1Missy2 Posts: 1
    Options
    Very interesting totals for calories burned. I have been a massage therapist for over 17yrs. and ALWAYS gain 6-10 lbs. on average when I take a 10 day break! Doing the math - it caculates to approx 2,000 calories per day on average. This has been the case time and time again. Thank goodness it comes back off when I get back to work and catch up with my clients who have been waiting for my return!
  • pyronymph1
    pyronymph1 Posts: 18 Member
    Options