Under in calories, but feeling "fatter"....

Options
2»

Replies

• CrystalGirl41
    Options
    I am just beginning my weight loss journey "this time around". I have been trying to lose weight for years and have ALWAYS struggled with weightloss through working out. Recently I went to a ladies fitness gym who did a Body Composition Test on me. I have never had it done before. Well, it measures your Body Fat %, Fat Body Weight, Lean Body Weight, Basal Metabolic Rate, Total body water and Bioresistance.

When the woman who conducted the test read the print out, she was shocked by my Lean Body Weight. I am 206lbs (5'8") but my lean body weight is 139lbs. That is HUGE she said -- this is my lean muscle mass/weight. The typical weight of a woman is 80-90 at the most. Typically women are told to eat as much protein (in grams) as their lean body weight is in lbs. That means I have to eat a LOT of protien in one day to ensure I am not losing my muscle mass to my low calorie intake and workouts. I want to lose fat, not muscle. This totally explains why I have not been able to keep the weight off that I have lost, if I even really lose much through exercise.

Are you eating enough protien then? Do you know how much you should be getting? Perhaps getting one of these Biometric body composition tests done has some answers for you.

Just my two cents. :) All the best in your journey, I know its not easy!

Crystal
  • carmenstop1
    carmenstop1 Posts: 210 Member
    Options
    This is what I found in about 5 minutes, I can go to more posts and find more if you would like, but here are a few of your greatest hits! they are all quoted directly from your posts! I am sure you will recognize them. Except the last one which I took from another post where someone says this is what you told her in a pm.

"Cris here is your "Scientific evidence" of low caloric diets being beneficial to weight loss, at 1000 calories.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/6654571"