Advice For New Runners

Options

Replies

• lmaharj
    lmaharj Posts: 82 Member
    Options
    5) Breathe. Breathing and posture can really make the difference between an awesome running experience and a horrible one.

I have a really hard time breathing properlly I really have to concentrate on breathing through my nose and out my mouth. Also I find that I hunch over when I am tired...how do you stop this?

Who told you to breath in through your nose?? That is crazy! Just open your mouth, you need too much air for those tiny nose-holes.

Actually breathing in through the nose and out through the mouth is best, because then you take longer deeper breathes and not short shallow ones.

To stop the hunch when I'm tired I THINK about my posture and focus on keeping it correct. I run a mental check list from my head to my feet to decide if I really need to walk or not.
    (and I'm a nursing student)

I disagree. It's like sucking through a straw. How can you get a good deep breath fast enough that way? I think timing your breathing to your strides helps much more.

If you're having a hard time breathing in through your nose, you're pushing yourself WAY too hard. You need to cut back on your speed a little.
  • maryd523
    maryd523 Posts: 661 Member
    Options
    Don't worry about stretching, it's not necessary, as more and more research is confirming.

Can you show me this research? I have never heard this in my life.

I can't run without stretching, can't think of many of my peers who can either.

To the OP, check out my blog if you want. :)

Here's some research even though I wasn't the one that posted the stretching comment...you can also see this info in Jeff Galloway's books.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/02/sports/playmagazine/112pewarm.html

Well even he still says you should stretch but dynamic stretches. I can agree with this though.

No stretching just sounds like a bad idea.