Why is Healthy Eating So Expensive?

Options

Replies

• hughtwalker
    hughtwalker Posts: 2,213 Member
    Options
    It all depends what you mean by "Healthy". If you insist on paying a premium for so-called "Organic" (or Ecolgical) then that is why.

In Great Britain plenty of healthy food is relatively cheap.

Is GM food classed as "unhealthy"? We aren't too overrun with it (yet!).

Spaghetti and Ketchup was a staple 45 years ago when I was a student - turns out the ketchup is bang full of antioxidants, anyway.
    - but not very filling so that was a false economy, really.

you don't have to live on steak nor salmon - plenty of cheaper cuts and species- or veggie is usually cheaper anyway
  • Kaydana123
    Kaydana123 Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    Value. Healthy. Convenience.

Pick two.

In my experience, the only time "healthy" foods are more expensive is when you're one of those "EVERYTHING MUST BE ORGANIC!" nuts or if you're trying to stick to things that don't require much effort to prepare as they come mostly pre-prepared. Well, sorry, but part of eating healthy means being willing to spend time in the kitchen. Yeah, if you're not willing to do THAT, then it can get expensive. Stupidly expensive. But if you care about your health AND saving money, you'll attempt to learn what you need to in order to resurrect the arcane arts of combining basic ingredients over heat in a process the ancient ones referred to as "cooking."

My slow cooker and bags of frozen veg have had a chat and decided they want to pick all three.