Do you consider your new lifestyle change a diet?

Options
2»

Replies

• maura5880
    maura5880 Posts: 346 Member
    Options
    Heck no! It's a lifestyle change & it'll stay that way :)
  • revnica
    revnica Posts: 50
    Options
    Definitely a life style change, diets never work for me!!!!
  • LorinaLynn
    LorinaLynn Posts: 13,247 Member
    Options
    When people say "How's the diet?" I say "Fine." No matter what. I don't argue semantics, and I don't give details unless they specifically ask because most people don't really want to hear the answers.

That's how I feel.

I didn't consider it "a diet" because I think of "a diet" as a short term fad with a name. Grapefruit diet, Slimfast diet, Cabbage diet, etc. I'm just learning how to eat the proper foods and amounts to get the results I want. At one time, the result I wanted was to lose weight. Now it's to maintain my weight.
  • bmqbonnie
    bmqbonnie Posts: 836 Member
    Options
    Nope! Diets are temporary, usually with temporary results.
  • AussieGem
    AussieGem Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    I dont consider it a diet! I am making dietary changes but to me it is a change in my lifestyle.

Many people go on 'diets' - however most are completely unsustainable and restrictive. Yes you may lose 10 pounds or whatever, but once you stop you put it all back on. I guess that is why, for me, it is all about lifestyle change!

At the beginning of the year, I was a lazy, fat, sad and lonely girl who was stuck in her ways eating anything that tasted good and didnt care enough about herself. Sure I would go on diets, but I did not have the right mindset. In my opinion dieting and living a healthy lifestyle can be two totally different things. What seperates them is the mindset that one has.

Dont get down about what people say or what they may think. You have made a change for the better, take it as a challenge and prove them wrong.
  • chikachic817
    chikachic817 Posts: 55 Member
    Options