My Poor Furbaby

Options
2»

Replies

• Cait_Sidhe
    Cait_Sidhe Posts: 3,150 Member
    Options
    Neem oil is worth a shot. You will have to read about it online....smells atrocious. You can buy shampoo with it in it. I swear by it. Good luck!!!
    Yeah, don't do that. Or any similar advice. Cats lick themselves. I've never heard of neem oil, and if I've never heard of it, I certainly don't want my cats ingesting it. Also, I've read a lot of people recommending garlic as a flea treatment online. Just FYI, garlic is toxic for cats.
  • ansonrinesmith
    ansonrinesmith Posts: 755 Member
    Options
    Maybe talk to the vet about a pill. My dog seems to rub off flea stuff between the shoulders unless we crate him after dosage.
  • catwrangler
    catwrangler Posts: 918 Member
    Options
    Buy a product like Revolution, Advantage or Frontline for cats from your vet. DO NOT use an OTC product like Hartz or Sargeants. I'm an Emergency Veterinary Technician, and at least twice a month I am treating cats with flea product toxicity. These products can cause seizures and skin burns. I'm sorry if this has already been said, I didn't read through the whole thread. But it's very very important.

Make sure whatever product you decide upon is labeled specifically for cats. Trying to get a discount product could end up in thousands of dollars in vet bills and possibly the loss of your cat.
    agreeance^^^^^

I like Revolution best, and you will have to bomb the house.
  • Vodkha
    Vodkha Posts: 352 Member
    Options
    Look up a product called Capstar. Should be able to get it from your vet. It will start killing adult fleas within 2 hours. Then use something like Advantage or Revolution or Advantage Multi.
  • Johnnyswife
    Johnnyswife Posts: 1,447 Member
    Options