Going Vegetarian?

Options
2»

Replies

• tecallahan
    tecallahan Posts: 732 Member
    Options
    You can do some research on "Eat For Life" by Dr. Joel Furhman. I tried it for quite some time. I loved the food and felt pretty good while I was on it.
  • clocklady
    clocklady Posts: 111 Member
    Options
    I went vegetarian in April and recently switched to vegan. I first started flirting with the idea when I started learning about Buddhism. Then I watched Food Inc and never ate meat again.

It is a very common misconception that you need meat or any animal products to be healthy. A great book to read is Eat to Live by Dr. Fuhrman. He explains the nutrition of a plant based diet very well.

As far as those around you, expect that they won't be so supportive. My parent's made some rude comments at first and my in-laws looked at me like I was weird, nothing new there :), but everyone got over it eventually.

I don't rely on faux meat products and rarely eat soy. Two fantastic cookbooks to try out are Jae Steele's Get It Ripe and Ripe Around Here. I just had my blood tested a few weeks ago and the only thing I was low on was vitamin D. I don't supplement so I guess my vegetarian diet isn't depriving me.

Physically I feel so much better since going vegetarian. I guess I should also mention that I avoid all processed products (grains, flour, sugar).

Good luck to you! You are doing your body a favor!
  • veganbaum
    veganbaum Posts: 1,865 Member
    Options
    The reason i stopped being a vegetarian is I wasn't sure how to get all the amino acids meat gives you. What I read later is you have to make sure you eat a special verity of food to get the essential amino acids that a slice of meat gives you. I now only eat fish and poultry because, I can't keep up with a balanced meal schedule. But that's me.