How many of you can cook?

Options

Replies

• castadiva
    castadiva Posts: 2,016 Member
    Options
    I love to cook but don't ask me for a recepie, things rarely taste exactly the same way twice in my house!

Laughing out loud, because that is my house too - my mother almost never uses a recipe (she's a fantastic cook!) and I rarely do either at my own house, having learned from her. The only problem is that if something really works brilliantly, it can never be replicated - we've been trying to recreate my best-ever birthday cake since I turned 13!
  • castadiva
    castadiva Posts: 2,016 Member
    Options
    But how do you buy ingredients? As a student I live on a weekly basis and buy my food shop weekly (namely because there is only one of me, so don't want food going out of date, and because I eat a lot).
    So for example recipes that have a teaspoon of pesto, or a garlic clove or some rosemary...I'd hate to go out and buy those things just to make one meal and then waste the rest...whereas at home my mum can build up a cupboard of all these little ingredients..

Dried herbs have a very long shelf life. Fresh herbs will last longer if you keep the stems wet and the tops dry (a wet paper towel around the stems, or put them in a small glass or vase with water). Herbs are also extremely easy to grow and most grow well together. If you have a window sill available you can put several herbs together in a small pot to always have a bit on hand.

Garlic can usually be bought one bulb at a time and has a long shelf life if kept cool and dry. Not sure about the pesto other than to make your own in the quantity you need.

Pesto freezes brilliantly, as do a lot of other sauces. If you have a spare ice-cube tray, you have the solution. Ginger root keeps better in a ziplock bag, but will last a long time in the fridge.
  • AdAstra47
    AdAstra47 Posts: 823 Member
    Options