How many of you can cook?

Options

Replies

• krlaws2
    krlaws2 Posts: 47
    Options
    But how do you buy ingredients? As a student I live on a weekly basis and buy my food shop weekly (namely because there is only one of me, so don't want food going out of date, and because I eat a lot).
    So for example recipes that have a teaspoon of pesto, or a garlic clove or some rosemary...I'd hate to go out and buy those things just to make one meal and then waste the rest...whereas at home my mum can build up a cupboard of all these little ingredients..

Start simple and build, as far as seasonings go, you should start with the basics and build from there. Plus, the more you do it, the more you will know what to keep on hand. I like the suggestion someone earlier made about making soups. I love soups and they are easy to make and adapt to what you have on hand and most of them are built with the same basic ingredients, which are easy for you to keep on hand. As you get better, then you can swing by the store to pick up a special ingredient or two for specific recipe. You can keep frozen soup starter veggies on hand and find the spices/flavors you prefer to build with. Whenever you have some leftover chicken, you can cut it up and throw it in to make your soup or whatever leftover meat you may have available. You really can't go wrong with it and it will build your confidence with cooking and allowing you some wiggle room to play with different flavors.

Also, I personally am a huge fan of allrecipes.com. These are recipes submitted by real everyday people so many of them are very simple, they are rated and the comments are great b/c you can learn from others' efforts before you make it and adjust the recipe before you try. I find a lot of my recipes there and very rarely have made something that I didn't like or that didn't turn out decent.