I would like ADVICE on ATKINS??? :) ***GOOD?**NAY?***

Options
Hi everyone,

So, I've heard a lot about Atkins but have always said "no way". Mostly because I heard that 'Phase 1' is NO carbs whatsoever. Not gonna lie, this wouldn't be easy for me in the least. LOL

Recently, I keep hearing really great things about Atkins on MFP. The most common thing I hear in that it jump starts weight loss. Even if just Phase 1 is completed.

I would really like some advice about Atkins. Anyone done Atkins? Success stories? People who don't like Atkins?

I think I need something very different than I've been doing for the last eight months. I have about 23lbs to lose.

I signed up on the Atkins website for now and they are actually sending out a free kit at no charge. That's pretty awesome.

Should I be purchasing the Atkins book? How do I get started? Do I just wait for my kit to arrive and then start?

Thanks so much! Hopefully I can get all the answers I need and make a decision. :D I really appreciate any advice!!!!

HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* Just wanted to add that from what I read on Atkins site, it isn't a no-carb/low carb approach anymore. They want you eating good carbs.

Replies

• jpalimpsest
    Options
    You're probably going to get a lot of hate-speech against all carb-related diets. Personally, I'm not a fan of Atkins. Instead I push South Beach. It recommends limiting simple carbs but encourages complex carbs (the ones your body breaks down more slowly), thus avoiding insulin spikes and the resulting blood-sugar drops.

I previously lost 70 lbs on South Beach, enjoying whole grain rices and pastas.
  • trea16
    trea16 Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    everyone that I know that has been on it has lost the weight and gained it back.
  • Sidesteal
    Sidesteal Posts: 5,510 Member
    Options