I would like ADVICE on ATKINS??? :) ***GOOD?**NAY?***

Options

Replies

• Hbenson99
    Options
    Well i have done Atkins many times so i will not say anything bad about it but you have to decide this is a full life change. If you do not believe you can stick with it then dont do it. Atkins effects everyone in your life because you have to eat and prepare to eat according to plan. A lot of calories so just be sure. Good luck in your decision. I have a lot of experience with Atkins and have lost and regain a significant amout of weight on it, so if you need specific info on the diet please send me a message and i will tell you all about it.
  • Kat5343
    Kat5343 Posts: 451 Member
    Options
    You are going to hear a lot of bad reviews on Atkins but I LOVE IT!! I lost 62 pounds so far on this and I modified the diet to fit my lifestyle. Everyone complains about gaining back but of course you will gain back if you go back to eating the unhealthy crap you were eating before. White flour foods are really of no benefit to you. Just get your carbs through vegetables and you will do fine. I cheated over the holidays. I stalled in my weightloss but did not gain a single pound back! So, I say go right ahead and do Atkins. I have lost my craving for bread all together! Don't miss it a bit. I won't lie, that first couple of weeks sucked but the craving is gone! Good luck!
  • rinzainab
    Options
    Too low of a carb level is not good for your thyroid, this is a published fact.

I had to go on thyroid meds after doing atkins, after taking meds for 3 years and no longer extremely cutting carbs, no more meds needed. I do not think this is a coincidence.
  • lainglesita
    lainglesita Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    I did the Atkins some years back and although I did lose some weight I never felt it was healthy. I wouldn't recommend it but if you want to give it a go, why not?
  • mrsjenfrank
    mrsjenfrank Posts: 1,016 Member
    Options