Any teachers trying to lose weight?

Options
13»

Replies

• annamolly22
    Options
    I'm sorry, but I don't see subs having to plan lessons, grade papers, or even do anything but sit on their *kitten*, give the kids an assignment and write a note to the teacher letting the teacher know what was accomplished for the day. The quality of the sub takes no toll whatsoever on education! You are a warm body who sits in the class while the teacher is gone. And as a teacher, I am not evaluated on my performance based on what the kids do when I have a sub in the classroom!

Speaking from experience, I can honestly say that my kids do nothing when a sub is in my class - well except act horribly! I have actually had to be pulled out of a mid-day meeting because a sub couldn't handle my kids. While yes, I have found 1-2 subs who (depending on the day) can keep my kids in control, none of them have actually spent any amount of time TEACHING, which when I leave a detailed lesson plan, is what I expect from a good sub!

So until I find a sub who actually TEACHES, I am sorry, but I don't consider you guys teachers!

I don't think anyone is saying that subs worker harder or as hard as teachers. I clock way more hours now as a full time teacher than I did as a sub. Of course, I mean that's obvious. But that does not mean that subs don't teach.