Eating past 6pm?

Options

Replies

• amyllu
    amyllu Posts: 432 Member
    Options
    Is it really bad to eat this late?

Not at all, assuming that you aren't overconsuming calories.

^ This.
    As long as you aren't over your calories for the day you are fine.

I'm so busy that the only time I usually have to eat dinner is closer to bed.

Good point!
  • teachmond
    Options
    I work in the medical field the 3-1100 shift so when I eat can vary on whats going on at work. Usually if I eat at 6 I want to eat again. I guess my point is you have to find what works for you.
  • slimtobemom
    Options
    The only advice I have been given is if eating late cut down on carbs. Rice/pasta/potatos are carbs for fuel. Majority of people air down and chill for the night after tea and do not use the fuel from the carbs.
  • BondBomb
    BondBomb Posts: 1,781 Member
    Options
    Physiologically there is no reason to eat at a certian time unless you have acid reflux and going to bed too soon after eating triggers it. If you are the type of person that will snack and go over your calories at night just because you are home and bored then sure, create a cut-off.
  • teachmond
    Options
    What happens if you work night shifts and wake up at 6 pm to eat before heading to work?

This is why I don't like or adhere to hard and fast "rules" of dieting/fitness. You need to figure out what works for YOU. Screw the rest. Most advice is so general it becomes useless. Try something. If you have negative results, don't do it again. If it works for you, tune out all the other BS and keep at it.

You're the one that's going to have to live with the consequences anyway, so who's opinion should matter the most? A diet expert's or yours?
    Good point.
  • StrugglingtoMove
    StrugglingtoMove Posts: 73 Member
    Options