Would this be acceptable to you?

Options
Hi all

Just wanted to run something by folk on here... but first a bit of background.

I'm a PhD student studying Human Health and Nutrition Psychology, however am funded (by scholarship) by a larger organisation much more involved in the food production and manufacturing area, as opposed to the consumer stuff.

My question is basically this:

One product that the scientists are currently working on is using a plant based microparticulate called lignin, with a view to using this in products to replace fat and cellulose. This will obviously have a huge impact on the calorific value of the product, by reducing it dramatically. To date, we've tested chocolate spread and muffins due to lignin being brown in colour when extracted in sodium caseinate.

Would this be acceptable to you, to buy as a product? Lignin is essentially wood...

I'm just really interested to see peoples reactions and opinions to this!

Replies

• zoodalia
    zoodalia Posts: 294
    Options
    I'm worryingly 'unfussy'... if it tastes okay and is lower in calories I'll eat it!
  • discodaddy61
    discodaddy61 Posts: 161 Member
    Options
    just because something is low in calories doesnt mean it is good for you or has nutritional value
  • sweet110
    sweet110 Posts: 332 Member
    Options
    Well, I think it depends on everyone's approach to diet/nutrition. Some people are "dieters" and some people are "health nuts." I use both terms fondly.