HEART RATE MONITOR/ZUMBA

Options
2»

Replies

• Jenn070608
    Jenn070608 Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    Thanks for all the advice and comments. It looks like this HRM is going back. I will get one with a strap and let you know how I make out.
  • crisdB
    crisdB Posts: 49
    Options
    I got an HRM about 2-3 weeks ago, for 60 minutes of Zumba the lowest i've done is about 760(+) calories and the highest was 963 . Mine is the watch, I do check my HR after each routine (every 4-5minutes) so that it can be as accurate as possible.
  • jennifir
    jennifir Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    your HRM must not be set right. I burn at least 500 calories.
  • Jenn070608
    Jenn070608 Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    Well, I took your advice and ran out tonight and returned my monitor. I purchased the Polar F6. The other monitor I had took my all afternoon to figure out and set. This one took me about 5 minutes. I have a Zumba class Sunday afternoon. I can't wait to try it out!!!

Thanks for the advice.
  • fittocycle
    fittocycle Posts: 827 Member
    Options
    Let us know how many calories you burn tomorrow!:smile:
  • KimA1
    KimA1 Posts: 47
    Options
    How did that work out? Did it read many more calories with your new one? I just purchased a Polar FT4 today for Zumba. Can't wait to try it out and see what I'm burning. :)
  • modernmom70
    modernmom70 Posts: 373 Member
    Options
    I wore mine to Zumba and it was at almost 100% the whole time. Maybe you have a bad instructor. You should be sweating lots!
  • magglett
    magglett Posts: 2,000
    Options
    I wear my HRM and in my last 40 minutes of Zumba I burned 350 calories ... I would be checking your HRM settings if I were you.
  • Sugar_Apple
    Sugar_Apple Posts: 951 Member
    Options
    I have a polar heart rate monitor and I have the Zumba Dvd's. The last time I did the Zumba live workout I burned 793 calories I think. I was also dripping with sweat.