What size weights are the best for a woman to tone arms?

Replies

• meshashesha2012
    meshashesha2012 Posts: 8,329 Member
    lift heavy.

why take years when you can see results in months?
  • AZackery
    AZackery Posts: 2,035 Member
    I am just getting into the cardio and strength training routine and currently I am using 5 pound weights in high reps... I am not seeing much in the way of results in my arms ( especially the waddle underneath my arms...) Is this a good size to continue with and it just takes time, or should I bump up the weights?

What kind of workouts are you doing? Are you working out to a workout dvd/vhs, the gym or on your own? I don't believe in lifting heavy, because I know that a person doesn't have to lift heavy to get results, so I would never suggest that to anyone.
  • rileamoyer
    rileamoyer Posts: 2,412 Member
    That makes sense to a point ( I am almost 40 and have NEVER exercised before... so please excuse my ignorance... I dont want to "bulk" up... but do want to tone my muscles and make them well defined... I hope that makes sense...
    Don't worry about bulking up. A woman has to really try hard to bulk up. Just keep increasing your weights as you can. I recently got the book 'New Rules of Lifting for Women' and found it really helpful!
  • Lolli1986
    Lolli1986 Posts: 500 Member
    this is going to go against everything that everyone says,

not all of us agreed that working till failure was the best way!

oops, sorry for the confusion. 'going against' was more in reference to working out every day. the general consensus is that rest days are mandatory (which they certainly are if you work to fatigue), but they are not if you work to a repeatable level.

lol, i had amazing arms when my job was to pack and stack 5kg boxes of fruit 4-10 hours every day for 3 months. i emulate my workout plans based on this concept - 1+ hour a day at a level I can do every day while improving.
  • sufikitkat