Wheat Belly

Options
I'm new on here, but not new on nutrition in general. I've always known that flours in general are bad for you, so all the stuff made of flour is bad for you. That it all converts to sugar and that reaks havoc on our bodies, etc, etc. BUT...after reading the book Wheat Belly....I'm downright kind of MAD!! I mean...we all in America are told to get our "whole grains", they're good for us, blah, blah, blah.... The general population does NOT see what this is doing to them, their weight....their health as a whole. It's so sad! I actually went through my pantry looking at everything (as I didn't realize that wheat is even in SOUP!) Yep, there it was. In my tomatoe soup! Shock. Saddness. I knew the crackers couldn't go in the soup, or even a grilled cheese sandwich, but the soup itself??!? So sad. There were SO MANY things in my pantry, frig and freezer that I circled the word wheat on them. I was shocked! I know there are diabetic out there (I work in the medical field) that are being told to stay away from sugar, but being told to eat more whole grains, etc. It's killing them, and really hurting those of us that are not diabetic. I could go on and on, but I won't.

Has anybody else read this book? I LOVED IT!! =)

Replies

• LizKurz
    LizKurz Posts: 340 Member
    Options
    BWAH?.

Firstly, tomato soup has flour in it to make it thicker. Have you ever canned tomatoes? They're very runny even when you simmer them down and use the mealy part with the watery part.

Secondly, no, wheat is not killing you. Just like everything else, you're not supposed to only eat wheat products, and if you eat more whole foods and fruits and veggies, the amount of wheat you consume will be fine.

This is just another "weight loss miracle" book to cut out a certain food. Gimmicks, eventually we'll run out of them I hope.
  • onit331
    onit331 Posts: 10
    Options