How much sodium do you have each day? Help please

Options
124»

Replies

• tsh0ck
    tsh0ck Posts: 1,970 Member
    Options
    I have no idea what I get daily. Don't track it. No reason to. Think I'm probably at 3,500 or so.
  • agentscully514
    agentscully514 Posts: 616 Member
    Options
    as much as I feel like eating. My blood pressure is healthy, so I don't worry about it at all.
  • jameehardey
    jameehardey Posts: 32
    Options
    i personally try and stay under a thousand and also havemy potassium higher than sodium... yeah im a bit wierd hahah but under 1,000 keeps me feeling good and not bloated!
  • saiabone
    saiabone Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    Alright seems to be making sense now to me....I exercise every day I try a min of 60 min whether that is pure cardio or cardio with strength training
  • lc971
    lc971 Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    I work as a nurse on a Cardiac floor, and our partients are restricted to 2000mg a day. That's what I aim for, too.
  • tsh0ck
    Options
    No point tracking sodium, any "weight" it causes you to gain is just water. Unless you have an unusually high sodium day before weigh in it isn't going to make any difference.

That's fine if you are only on here to lose weight. For me and lots of others it's very much about optimising our health. I use all the nutritional breakdown to make sure everything's as good as I can realistically get it.

And sodium won't do anything to hurt health, assuming there isn't a pre-existing medical condition. Get potassium. Drink water. 'Problem' solved.
  • perfektfox
    perfektfox Posts: 8
    Options
    I track sodium because going too low makes me extremely sick. I need at LEAST 5000mg per day. Low blood pressure + hot climate + endurance runner + heavy sweater + clean bill of health. Lots and lots of research showing healthy people do not really need to watch their sodium. The kidneys flush the excess.
  • saiabone
    saiabone Posts: 29 Member
    Options