SUP- stand up paddle boarding... Info needed.

Options
2»

Replies

• ncianci34
    Options
    I'm trying to resurect some SUP discussion, might start a group! Novice SUP enthusiast here...
  • sleepytexan
    sleepytexan Posts: 3,138 Member
    Options
    SUP is awesome. Went out this morning -- spectacular sunshine with just the right amount of chill in the air. It was wildlife central this morning! tiger sharks, a seal eating a bat ray, jellyfish, herons, seagulls, pelicans, and pure glassy water.

Nothing better than SUP in January (or February, or March . . . . )

Ahhhhhh.
  • neiljbrady
    neiljbrady Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    I'm new to SUP. considering buying a board.
    Found a used Yolo yak. Hybrid SUP kayak. For $250. New they are about $600

Does anyone out there SUP?
    What info tips and suggestions can you share?

I'll be paddling mostly on lakes. Maybe a calm river. And hope to take it to the beach an or bay on calm waters.

I like the stability of recreational boards.
    The shorter boards are harder for me to stand on

Thought the cheaper Yolo yak would be a great starting point.

What can y'all share?
    I'm a paddle racer and recreational paddler. I rep for Creed SUP and have many boards and a lot of experience padding. First thing I need to know is weight and if you're going to paddle fresh or salt water, surf or flat. Do you have room to store a board 10-12 ft. long? Cheap boards are just that. They are heavy and do not last. The paddle is the most important. For a good board and GREAT paddle, expect to pay about $1500.00. ISUPs , or inflatables are even more. Great core exercise. My wife and I have a group that we paddle about 15 mi. a week in summer. I paddle more for competition puposes. I can help with selection, if you want. Craigslist has junk unless you know what to look for. WWW. Standupzone.com has a lot of info.
  • neiljbrady
    Options