Living with Lactose Intolerance & Loathing it ! Help!

Options
2»

Replies

• ahecho
    ahecho Posts: 4
    Options
    WOW ^__^ thanks all!!! I am so excited to try out all of these tips/ideas/products to see which works best!
    You're all so wonderful!

Kate
  • MeredithLee11
    MeredithLee11 Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    Some good advice in here. I'm just starting out dairy-free and dreading it too. I had never heard of Daiya "cheese", but I think I'll be picking some up :)
  • mcarter99
    mcarter99 Posts: 1,666 Member
    Options
    Most adults are lactose intolerant, across the world. Americans have the highest tolerance due to their heavy use of dairy past childhood. But even in America a large percent of us don't do well with it. It's no big deal. There are so many alternatives. Usually yogurt doesn't bother people, so if you're a die-hard for 'real' dairy, try that.

Mammals are made to live off mother's milk until they can feed normally. Humans are the only mammal to drink the milk of another. It's kind of gross, when you think about it. Our bodies were never meant to be milk consumers past childhood, and early childhood at that. That's why our stomachs eventually lack the enzyme to digest it. So if you're lactose intolerant, you're normal!
  • abbybean11
    abbybean11 Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    i'm a vegan and i make pizza with daiya mozzarella cheese and it's delicious! i also drink almond milk which i think is even more delicious than regular milk.
  • Sublog
    Sublog Posts: 1,296 Member
    Options
    Hello! Very new to MFP (just created my acct today) and I love pizza but it doesn't like me. The tasty milk in my cereal sours my stomach and my ice cream treats sweetly refuse to stay put.