Effexor/Venlafaxine

Options
Hey just wondering if anyone has had any experience with this drug...both good and bad.

Has anyone lost weight while on Effexor? I know ppl will say they've gained but frankly just wondering if anyone has seen it NOT affect their weightloss efforts.

Just started and I want some well-rounded reviews :)

Much thanks,
Char

Replies

• Bex_zic
    Bex_zic Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    i am a mental health nurse, I haven't ever been on it myself but have worked with a lot of people who have been on it! The drug itself doesn't cause weight gain or loss, it effects your appetite and can make you thirsty. People tend to eat crap when they are just snacking, and are more likely to drink juice or sweet drinks when they are constantly thirsty as water can be boring, it can also make you retain water so you gotta keep your intake up so you don't swell up. I think if you are aware of if your appetite changes (remember, if your appetite goes away you may put weight on...so its important to make yourself eat something healthy) and keep things under control you should be fine! Also, hopefully, as the drug starts to work it may make you feel more motivated and do more activities!
    Hope this helps!
  • Pilcrow_
    Pilcrow_ Posts: 27 Member
    Options