Embarrassed to exercise

Options

Replies

• ChristineS_51
    ChristineS_51 Posts: 872 Member
    Options
    lacroyx
    Sure there's probably people pointing and laughing at me but I can't see or hear them over the sound of how awesome I am.
    :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: LOVE IT Great attitude!!
  • primalchaos
    primalchaos Posts: 135 Member
    Options
    Is anyone else embarrassed to actually start going to the gym/running in public? I am happy swimming but at the moment I'm somewhere without a pool nearby, so that's not an option. I don't feel comfortable with exercising in public but I'm not sure what to do otherwise.
    Also, swimming/joining a gym = spending money, which, as a student, I definitely don't have much of to spare!!
    Are other people in the same situation? Or does anyone have any tips for me?
    Thanks!

I used to feel uncomfortable at the gym or at running events until I just did it. Yes, there are more athletic people and try as I might, I'll never get close to a 14:00 5k. I am faster than I was though. Keep it about you, focus on your effort, and take pride that you are doing all the footwork that will make the changes you want.
  • frando
    frando Posts: 583 Member
    Options
    youtube has a selection of work out videos that are great to try out, even better you have a really wide choice available to yourself. I've not got alot of money myself so I joined my gym with an off peak membership so I go during the quiet periods (weekdays from about 9am -4pm) and it was £20 compared to the on peak of £30 or any time £45 :D and some gyms, at least in my area, have a 'women's' only section.
  • curvymomo3
    curvymomo3 Posts: 253 Member
    Options
    Truthfully, I just shove my earbuds into my ears crank up the music and do my thing... I am embarressed too but I do it anyway, expecially free weights because there are tons of big men doing them too. Its what I gotta do to get to my goal yo!
  • FrugalMomsRock75