Military Question.....

Options

Replies

• SyntonicGarden
    SyntonicGarden Posts: 944 Member
    Options
    I am an Army Combat Medic. You will not like being an OR tech. The pamphlets and the recruiters make it look so good. You will end up cleaning for the majority of your work day. Check out the OCS and PA programs(IPAP). You should set your sights on being a Medical Officer. If someone would have directed me, that is where I would be now, but I will still get there.

^^^^ This... My husband is prior service Army. I was considering going back to school for medicine. The two places/programs he recommended were USHUS or IPAP and he suggested Navy over Army.

Make sure that whichever route you take, that the credentials that you get are valid in the civilian world when you get out. There are certain things you can do in the military that you can't do in the civilian world. I'm an EMT. My husband is not, yet while he was in, he would've been able / authorized to administer a chest tube whereas I would have not have been.

Being an unemployed veteran SUCKS if your MOS doesn't line up with a "normal" job when you get out, regardless of the branch.
  • Phoenix59
    Phoenix59 Posts: 364 Member
    Options
    I would have to say Navy. My husband had the time of his life and retired from the Navy after 30 years of service. Upon retiring, he easily found a job that utilized the skills he'd acquired in the military, so it was a smooth transition for him.
  • SVCat
    SVCat Posts: 1,483 Member
    Options