What kind of splits do you?

Options
2»

Replies

• vtachycardia
    Options
    There's absolutely no reason for a beginner to split things up to the point where you are waiting a week to train each muscle group, unless they purposely want to gain strength slower.

A beginner can't overload their body to that degree.

Splits are good for experienced body builders...

One, that is not what the OP asked for

Two, if you looked at that split I think you would see why it is ideal for any experience level

three, OP did not say they were a beginner, that is your assumption

four, there is more to the body than strength gains
  • xunleashed
    xunleashed Posts: 82 Member
    Options
    Yes, I am not a beginner, I have been doing splits on and off for almost three years now, but wanted to switch to full-body or upper/lower body split.

I have no hatred toward separating each muscle on a different day.

I just wanted to change things up. I will incorporate some deadlifts and squats into my routine, and see how I progress with that. I didn't think a full-body would make me as sore as it did, so I am off to a good start.

Thank you all for the responses.
  • JustJennie1
    JustJennie1 Posts: 3,843 Member
    Options
    There's absolutely no reason for a beginner to split things up to the point where you are waiting a week to train each muscle group, unless they purposely want to gain strength slower.

She never said she was a beginner.

I do one body part per day and it works out fine for me. I've gained strength and muscle. You seem to forget that everyone is different.
  • wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options

I do one body part per day and it works out fine for me. I've gained strength and muscle. You seem to forget that everyone is different.

She is a he. And from everything in his post -- Still pretty much going to benefit from beginners gains - especially in the compound movements he hasn't been doing.