Running...help or hinder weight loss??

Options

Replies

• sevsmom
    sevsmom Posts: 1,172 Member
    Options
    Lots of replies. . . my 2 cents: IF you are burning enough calories running to help create a deficit, you should see the scale move. I had lost about 20 lbs before I started running. . .it took months. Then, when I started training for the half marathon. . .another 12 pounds slipped off in quite short order. I was controlling my calorie intake, burning quite a bit on 4 runs a week, and strength training. So, I'd say up the effort/miles and watch watch watch the calories in.

But, my biggest hope for you is that you develop a love for running. It's so freeing to get out and GO! No mirrors, no machines, just you, the trail/road/pavement/etc, and maybe some music. It's a the best kept secret of running!!!
  • keeponkickin
    keeponkickin Posts: 1,520 Member
    Options
    richardsross.jpg
  • Loulady
    Loulady Posts: 511 Member
    Options
    richardsross.jpg

You don't get there with *just* running, though.

"To perfect her stride and running economy, Richards-Ross relies heavily on interval work. Close to competition, she will run a few 600s, resting five to 10 minutes in between. Then, she’ll dive into 12 grueling intervals of 200 meters that she has to finish in fewer than 30 seconds. She rests two minutes between sprints. But in an event during which the first three to four seconds can determine the outcome, strength and power are key.
    “My weight-room work varies depending on the time of year, but in the early season, we’re doing circuit training,” she says. “During that time, I may be doing bodyweight stuff like pull-ups, push-ups and dips to get ready for the next phase, which is more dynamic. Then, we get into snatches, power cleans, overhead squats, leg extensions, leg presses and Romanian deadlifts for hamstring stabilization.”"
    http://www.muscleandperformancemag.com/departments/profile/2012/2/olympic-strength
  • keeponkickin