Full/Half Marathon

Options
2»

Replies

• Agator82
    Agator82 Posts: 249 Member
    Options
    I have no running background, but I decided that I wanted to do a half marathon so I went over and did a training plan on SmartCoach at runnersworld. I am doing week two of 23 (something like that) and I am just beginning to feel like I am finding my groove. My plan is to do a 10K in November and a half in January.

I could not imagine preparing for a full in the next four months (I tried), but a half whether in 8 weeks or 23 weeks seems much more reasonable. Just my opinion.
  • naculp
    naculp Posts: 225 Member
    Options
    It's not the greatest thing to use, but you could download the Runner's World Smart Coach app to give you somewhat of a training regimen. I'm currently using it to train for my 2nd full marathon
  • LindaJWan
    LindaJWan Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I am doing my 5th half marathon in December. I always say that if I can do it anyone can do it. If you have been doing some training and you have 8 more weeks to train I think you can do it. So much of it is mental. But I REALLY don't advise you to do a full with such little time. Stepping up from a half to a full is a totally different ballgame. Although mental is important I can only believe that it can get you so far in a full if you haven't trained.

I think if you really want to accomplish this you should enjoy it - so a half would be doable. (Well, at about mile 9 you might stop enjoying it but you will be so proud when they put the medal around your neck....It will all be worth it...)

Good Luck!
  • RGv2
    RGv2 Posts: 5,789 Member
    Options
    I dont think that its necessary to run a year before that. Even Higdon says if you can easily run 3 miles and your running 3-5 miles 3 times a week its good to start the 20 week novice program.

This is my opinion and here is my logic.