So...My mom died.

Options
Yes. My mom. She died at the tender age of 67 in February of this year. She died from complications of obesity. She died because she lost her mobility. She died because she could no longer get up to go to the bathroom safely. She died because they put a urinary catheter in her and she got a raging urinary tract infection. She died because, over the years, she just kept putting on the weight, eating as she wanted, and slowly was unable to move enough to burn off the calories she ate. My mom died...and she didn't have to.

I turn 50 next week. I am only 17 years younger than she was when she died. I am obese. I weigh 217 lbs. I need to lose approximately 60 lbs. I have been overweight since my kids were born back in the mid 80s. I smoke. I don't drink. I work in healthcare, so I see every single day what being overweight does to your body.

I have never really made a serious attempt at losing weight. You know, how it seems that every year, you reach that threshold at a particular weight, and then, BAM! One day, you are 4-6 lbs heavier...and you just accept that. This repeats over a course of several (well, 25) years. Do the math. That's what happened to me. "Oh, I'll work it off. Later." Well, later is now.

But this week, while reading about Michelle Obama's changes to the school lunch program, I realized that I have done this to myself. Many folks have made comments that the balanced meals the kids receive are not enough to satisfy them. Many others made comments that kids are so used to everything being 'super-sized' that they would, of course, feel like they were starving. It was then, that I realized my main issue. My 'normal' meals have become so far off the norm that my body doesn't recognize what a normal portion size is!

My darling daughter is getting married in May. I have a totally reachable goal to lose approximately 7 lbs a month over 8 months. I think that's reasonable. Not easy; reasonable.