Eating back workout calories

Options

Replies

• renamarie77
    renamarie77 Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    I'm still new at this, but I feel that the 1590 calories MFP allots for me are usually plenty IF I balance them right. I definitely don't think I should eat extra calories that I just burned. That seems like it would defeat the purpose of doing ALL that hard work. I would think if I was trying to maintain, then I'd eat them back, but I'm wanting to lose, lose, lose. However, IF I'm still hungry, I don't feel as guilty if I have to use a few of them.

29452814.png
    Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Nutrition Facts For Foods
  • djc315
    djc315 Posts: 585 Member
    Options
    I don't. But if I happen to, then that is fine. I use it as a cushion.
  • WABeachWalker
    WABeachWalker Posts: 133 Member
    Options
    Usually I do eat back those calories, but on a week where the scale hasn't really budged, I may skip the adding back 2 or 3 times that week and it helps.
  • Weebs628
    Weebs628 Posts: 574 Member
    Options
    I eat them back. Sometimes I struggle,with it if I burn a lot, but I try not to eat when I'm not hungry. I'm getting close to my goal though. Those damn last 10 pounds!
  • brjustice2000
    Options
    I eat back some of the exercise calories in an effort to get to my basic calorie need of 2270 based on my weight. The more days you can eat your basic caloric need and still achieve your deficit goal, the less likely you will slow down your metabolism. My goal is a 1000 calorie deficit each day in an effort to lose 2 lbs a week. I normally have more than a 7000 calorie deficit for the week but don't always lose the 2 lbs. This journey is much more than calories eaten minus calories burned. As long as what your doing is working and you aren't in starvation mode by eating too few calories keep on with what you do. When you hit a plateau, you have to tweak your routine by changing something.
  • moonlightturk
    Options