Running a 5k without headphones?? WTF?????

Options

Replies

• Legs_McGee
    Legs_McGee Posts: 845 Member
    Options
    I've been running for over ten years, have done 2 full marathons, 22 half marathons and I don't know how many shorter distance ones. I've never once run with music.
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    ...this threat is quite amusing and interesting:happy: ;

Are you ok? It's never right for someone to threaten you.
  • _Terrapin_
    _Terrapin_ Posts: 4,301 Member
    Options
    I've always run with music, it never occurred to me not to I guess as I am so used to needing to drown out traffic. I've currently got vestibular damage/ balance issues and very loud tinnitus which makes me nauseous - until I put music on, it doesn't have to be loud just enough to have a rhythm to take away from the constant high pitched squeal I hear 24/7 (it's like how you can hear electrical items sometimes until you unplug them).

I would not sign up to a race with a headphone ban as I normally run distances for charities and it helps me to breathe to the beat so i don't hyperventilate from the crowds, noise and distractions of people nattering away to each other (drives me crazy hearing Beryl and Betty discussing when they are next going on a cruise...)

I'm choosing to run for a charity on runs that are closed off to traffic and are clearly marked out - and I've paid to be there - so I really don't understand why they want to stop you from running in a way that is comfortable to you... if they say about not being able to hear, what do they do about deaf and hard of hearing runners?

To me, it's as ridiculous as imposing a ban on running trousers it's so strange. I'm not competing in the Olympics and so unless you are someone who is in the 'elite athletes group' I find it a very odd thing to impose - I'm fairly certain the elite athletes can run through any conditions either way!