Why don't people like the phrase "tone up"

Options
Don't scream at me, I'm genuinely curious. Is 'toning up' something that doesn't actually happen? I'm really new to this, and am just curious as to why, in so many things I've read, people have expressed their distaste of the phrase.

Replies

• wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    There is only losing fat and building muscle.

Call it what you like.
  • George1567
    Options
    In most cases it is poorly used or largely mis-understood. Many will say I just want to "tone up" but for this to happen the process is that of several steps. Anyone can workout and have a good level of muscle development and strength, but until the nutrition brings the body fat to a level where it can show its not complete. Tone is more of "how you look" than just something that comes from working out. Proper nutrition is still the biggest player in the game, even when all you want is to "tone".
  • katevarner
    katevarner Posts: 884 Member
    Options
    Women seem to prefer "tone" to "build muscle" because they are afraid that people will think they want to get bulky. It means essentially the same thing, call it what you will.
  • gertudejekyl
    gertudejekyl Posts: 386 Member
    Options
    What is it - it seems meaningless....:huh:
  • Cyclink
    Cyclink Posts: 517 Member
    Options
    Mostly because "toning" does not exist.

You can do two things that affect what your muscle looks like:
    1) lose the body fat that covers it
    2) increase the muscle size

You can't really control where you lose body fat, so working that area of your body will not necessarily make the muscle there more visible.

Muscle either grows or shrinks. It's not something that you can control the way in which it grows.
  • Game8
    Game8 Posts: 442
    Options
    It's not specific enough, and when you don't have specific goals you tend to do many things at once and end up going nowhere.
  • AZKristi