Who lifts weights here and does no cardio

124»

Replies

• Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Lift 5 days a week, do cardio once a week which is just enough to keep me in decent cardio shape (which is the only reason I bother with it)
  • DMZ_1
    DMZ_1 Posts: 2,889 Member
    Not me. I both lift and do cardio.
  • victoriannsays
    victoriannsays Posts: 568 Member
    I mix strength and resistence training, with HIIT/circuit training and running throughout the week. One day breaks between strength training :)

I do the cardio to burn calories.. I despise cardio!!
  • Natihilator
    Natihilator Posts: 1,778 Member
    It's taken me a while, mostly because I had to work to get my macros right (I currently eat 40% protein, 40% fat, 20% carbs), but the last 6 months have been good for 30 of those lbs (that's when I got things right for me). In my daily life, I work in IT so it doesn't get much more sedentary than that; other than my workouts, its not like I'm getting much other activity. I work in a downtown area, in a really cold climate, so walking around the neighbourghood at lunchtime is a non-starter.

I'm fortunate that I have a good local trainer to work with, who does functional metabolic resistance training - it's a workout philosophy that was pioneered by Alwyn Cosgrove. Much of what we do follows along what you can find in the New Rules for Lifting series - maybe there are copies in your local libray you can check out. I started out doing mainly body weight, because I was a wreck when I began. The day after my first workout I could barely move...but I went back...and now I'm swinging around 50 lb kettlebells amoungst other things.

I can understand how back and hip problems can be a big issue in this kind of a program. Have you seen a doctor or a physiotherapist about them?