I got told 1200 calories is too low??????

Options

Replies

• misspancakes
    misspancakes Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    MFP gave me the goal of 1200 cals. I guess I just stuck to it because I hated 'going over' I guess I will step it up to 1500
  • Helloitsdan
    Helloitsdan Posts: 5,564 Member
    Options
    MFP gave me the goal of 1200 cals. I guess I just stuck to it because I hated 'going over' I guess I will step it up to 1500

Care to share some stats with us?

Weight
    Body Fat%
    Occupation
    Workout routine
  • misspancakes
    Options

Care to share some stats with us?

Weight
    Body Fat%
    Occupation
    Workout routine

For sure - I am 27, 161cm and weigh 133 pounds. I am unsure as to what my body fat % is and I am a lawyer. So I do a lot
    Of sitting down of a day - however I do ensure I get up and walking around and least once or twice an hour

My workout routine is 5 days per week at the gym, usually 25 mins on the treadmill on a 10% incline, 10mins on the rowing machine and/or bike..

One day a week I use the weights - but I will be stepping up the weights as of this week.
  • Helloitsdan
    Options
    How long have you been eating lower cals again?
    How long have you been dieting?
  • redraidergirl2009
    redraidergirl2009 Posts: 2,560 Member
    Options
    It's not just calories in v calories out, it's the type of calories. If you ate 1200 calories of chips and cookies you probably wouldn't lose weight or feel as well as if you had eaten 1200 calories of a healthy diet. You'd lose muscle, worsen your healthy with lots of sugar, or if it was kfc, you'd take in insane amounts of fat, and likely raise your cholestrol, possible blood pressure...
  • misspancakes
    Options

3 months I say - not religiously however.
  • Helloitsdan
    Options

1600 would be a good number to hit every day.
    Even if you arent working out that day.
    Eat at an 80:20 clean to junk ratio and youll do fine.