Lifting weights while obese

Options
I have heard a lot of stories reagarding lifting weights. people have been saying one needs to lose 1st before trying to lift. Im losing and i want to build muscle as well. So i want to start lifting weights and i want to know. is it true i will remain this big? im around 190 lbs and a lady 5.4 tall

Replies

• sarahrbraun
    sarahrbraun Posts: 2,261 Member
    Options
    I've never heard that. I started lifting before I lost a single pound, and I have lost a total of 32 pounds.

If you lift while you are trying to lose weight, your weight loss could be slower, but I can tell you that you will LOOK better. You will carry your weight much much better

this was in '09 and I was definitely 188-199 pounds

8193374926_e25182cc2b_q.jpg
    0120100909 by crochetmom2010, on Flickr

this was me the last week of November. I am wearing the same shirt. The pants have been too big since March or April. I weighed 196 that day

8211731868_5394684d1d_q.jpg
    IMG00856-20121123-0837 by crochetmom2010, on Flickr
  • AntWrig
    AntWrig Posts: 2,273 Member
    Options
    I have heard a lot of stories reagarding lifting weights. people have been saying one needs to lose 1st before trying to lift. Im losing and i want to build muscle as well. So i want to start lifting weights and i want to know. is it true i will remain this big? im around 190 lbs and a lady 5.4 tall
    Your priority should be weight training. Weight training preserves whatever muscle you have. You will not remain "big".
  • nz_deevaa
    nz_deevaa Posts: 12,209 Member
    Options
    Before, 125kg/275lbs

8147291188_94f2d61730.jpg

A couple of weeks ago, 100kg/220lbs

8247223566_27bebdb04a.jpg

I lift heavy. Squats. Deadlifts. OHP. Bench. Row.
  • scheatwood
    scheatwood Posts: 207 Member
    Options