Has anyone else dealt with the unsupportive husband/wife?

Options
Hello, I'm new to mfp. I lost about 5 lbs before and now I am continuing my 'journey' here. I have found wonderful support on here but my husband is less than helpful. He refuses to admit that I've lost any weight while I have lost about about 13 lbs so far. Also, he brings out pies and cakes and chocolates all the time, which he knows is my weakness. Furthermore! He sits there and complains how he's not losing weight himself and how hard he is working but he eats McDonald's and bagels with extra cream cheese and the sweets I mentioned! When I offer to do my diet with him he continually says no. It would be so helpful to have a diet buddy and we could get healthy together. . . WHY THE HELL NOT!? Ugh, I don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

Replies

• lindsyrox
    lindsyrox Posts: 257 Member
    Options
    Does he want a chubby wife?? My husband wants a skinny wife so i finally had to say if you want me to be skinny you need to help me out by NOT buying oreos, NOT buying huge pizzas etc. My husband eats like a cow but eventually became more accomodating to my different eating habits and stopped offering the sweets.

and the cherry on top... a couple weeks ago he weighed himself and found he gained a bunch of weight! bwa haha ha! look who's watching what he eats now!

In all honesty, just try to be blunt w/ him tell him you have goals and you want to be successful and you need him to stop hurting your success.

good luck!
  • laurynwithawhy
    laurynwithawhy Posts: 385 Member
    Options
    I have not had this problem with a husband, but have dealt with (ALOT) with friends, family, and roommates. I break it into 2 categories: 1) people who literally are in denial and have no idea that their food choices and lifestyle are making them fat, and 2) people who just don't care or aren't willing to give up what they like to make changes to better themselves.