How often to exercise??

Options
Hi all,

Newbie here and looking for a bit of guidance, just wondering how many days people are working out for and for how long each day?

All help appreciated.

Thanks
Nic

Replies

• Gallowmere1984
    Gallowmere1984 Posts: 6,626 Member
    Options
    It depends on how I feel. Minimum four days per week, max seven with some two-a-days. I lift as heavy as possible at every session as well, but that's just me. As for cardio, I hate running like the NRA hates background checks, so I only tend to do that two to three times per week for ten to fifteen minutes at a time.
  • Tyggress73
    Tyggress73 Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    I work out Monday through Friday, take the weekends off (although I don't just sit around on the weekends, I try to be active - I just don't do "formal" exercise).

Monday - weight training + 34 minutes of HIIT cardio on elliptical
    Tuesday - weight training + 30 minutes slow, fat-burn pace on stairmaster
    Wednesday - 60 minutes HIIT cardio on elliptical + ab work
    Thursday - weight training + 34 minutes of HIIT cardio on elliptical
    Friday - work out with my trainer, usually some form of crossfit/Tabata combined for 30 minutes

I do have a training partner who is just as dedicated as I am...so having someone show up every day faithfully helps keep me motivated...we're competitive and push each other to do better. I also train in the mornings (5 am every day) before work. I find it easier as the gym is not crowded, so I don't have to wait for machines AND if I wait until after work, I skip out with the excuse that I'm too tired more often than not.
  • litatura
    litatura Posts: 569 Member
    Options
    30 minutes of exercise a day is recommended for good health, so that's what I strive for.
  • courtxoney
    courtxoney Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    i try and aim for at least 4 days of going to the gym. i spend about an hour or so there.