5'10 female. Is 130 too low?

Options
Hello, Im 5'10 and my goal weight is 130. I checked the bmi and it sais im okay but looking at other people who are shorter are aiming for the same goal... What should I be aiming for?

Replies

• Guamybear
    Guamybear Posts: 1,061 Member
    Options
    I think that is way too low.. My ideal weight at 5'4 is 124..
  • mlaz81
    mlaz81 Posts: 36 Member
    Options
    I'm 5'8 and my goal weight was 140. I'm 158 right now, and I don't know how much smaller I'm going to get, so I'm going to adjust my goal. It all depends on when you're losing how you look and feel when you get to a certain weight. Every person is different.
  • Sheacat
    Options
    I think it depends on your body. Frame, muscle, etc... I am not an expert though! I know for me (from past experience), 170 is about as low as I can go without looking anorexic, and I am 5'9".
  • prokomds
    prokomds Posts: 318 Member
    Options
    You should really be paying attention to your body fat percentage, not so much your weight

http://www.builtlean.com/2010/08/03/ideal-body-fat-percentage-chart/

(I like the pictures at the bottom that give examples of people in the % ranges)

I think 130 is too low for 5'10" (my goal weight at 5'6" is 135...), but you will know a lot more as you get closer to that goal. Do not be afraid to up your goal weight if you realize it's unrealistic! No one knows what number appears on the scale, but everyone can see if you're getting fit and lean. Good luck! :)
  • acyndyquil
    Options
    I'm 5'8 and at 138lbs my BMI is 20. 18 is when it starts to be unhealthy and although it does say "healthy range" it is very close to being underweight.

Plus if you are building muscle than you'll weigh more anyways but still be slim and healthy (:
    BMI calculators on most sites are actually incorrect (new study - you could search BMI Calculator 2013 for the new one)
  • stumblinthrulife
    stumblinthrulife Posts: 2,558 Member
    Options