The Term "Newbie"

Options
Hey everyone, do you think we can come up with a better term to describe people who are new to strength training than "newbie"? It's slightly derogatory and frankly feels like there is a tone of inferiority present. What do you think??

Replies

• djames92
    djames92 Posts: 990 Member
    Options
    beginner ?
  • WhitR86
    WhitR86 Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    I dont know if its an improvent, but in the military new people are called "privates". Maybe not..

;-) I'm new to weight training too. And liking it!
  • 1puffyheart
    Options
    I'm used to the term - I don't think it's derogatory or inferior. It is what it is. :smile:

Maybe Trainee? Rookie?
  • jimmie65
    jimmie65 Posts: 655 Member
    Options
    Never had a problem with the term.
  • daphnemoon
    daphnemoon Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    I think it is a particularly lovely word, but as far as I'm aware it isn't just used for people who are new to strength training - I've heard this in loads of different contexts, and even if I might not like it it doesn't really bother me.
  • olsondre
    olsondre Posts: 198 Member
    Options
    The word itself is fine. It is only derogatory within the context it is used and that won't change with a different word
  • flutterbye811
    flutterbye811 Posts: 86 Member
    Options
    Better to be a newbie than to never try it all. Everyone has gotta start somewhere.
  • Alatariel75
    Alatariel75 Posts: 17,959 Member
    Options
    I don't have a problem with newbie, it gets used across a variety of things. Noob, maybe not, but newbie is fine...
  • RunDoozer
    RunDoozer Posts: 1,699 Member
    Options
    I think it's fine. It is a fairly big improvement as the last version of the term was "maggot".
  • sofielein
    sofielein Posts: 539 Member
    Options