240lbs and not sure where to start

Options
This is my first time really starting a weight loss anything and after college and starting birth control, I've gained 60 pounds on top of the 180 that I weighed back in high school. Now I'm 25, and I'm getting closer and closer to 250 lbs. I love my husband and he is so loving and supporting of me, and he makes me feel beautiful despite me being so overweight. Though I don't hate my body, I want to live a long healthy life... But I'm having a hard time getting motivated. The depo has killed my energy to get up and move, school takes even more time out of my schedule and now I'm stuck.

What are you guys doing to stay motivated? I'll take any tips you can send my way! This seems like such a supportive community and I'm glad that I get the chance to meet you all! =)

Replies

• Pkeenan1229
    Pkeenan1229 Posts: 51 Member
    Options
    feel free to friend me! i love keeping each other motivated!
  • konerusp
    konerusp Posts: 247 Member
    Options
    please read this,you will have enough info to get started
    http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/654536-in-place-of-a-road-map-2-0-revised-7-2-12
  • 1ConcreteGirl
    1ConcreteGirl Posts: 3,677 Member
    Options

Absolutely this.
  • trogalicious
    trogalicious Posts: 4,584 Member
    Options
    For a tip: don't dive in to multiple extreme changes at once.

If you're just looking to lose some weight, figure out a caloric deficit and stick with that by itself until you have the energy to be more active. I see people that start on this site... immediately eat 1200 calories, try to start insanity, go 100% clean eating, fail, delete their account, then come back again.. trying to figure out what went wrong.

Calculate your BMR using a number of calculators online (I use fat2fitradio.com), eat at least your BMR, get enough water and sleep, and go from there.

best of luck.
  • beautifulregardless
    Options