A Question for all the Low Carb Haters

Replies

• CoachReddy
    CoachReddy Posts: 3,949 Member
    Your brain, which is responsible for more than just your thought processes (regulating heart beat, breathing, hormones, etc.) runs off of glucose. Where do you get glucose? From carbs. Sure your body can go through complex processes to get glucose from protein and fat but when it comes to my brain, I like to get what it needs without too much difficulty so that I can continue to go about my business (I'm a student, brain function is important to me).

This is simply not true... Carbohydrates are not required in a healthy human diet or put another way there is no such thing as an 'Essential Carbohydrate'. A lot of nutritionists will say that you require 120g to 130g of carbs in a healthy diet to maintain simply because they confuse what our brains get in a carbohydrate rich diet versus what they will get in a low carb diet. The fact is if there are no carbs in your diet the brain and central nervous system will run off molecules called 'ketones' which are synthesised in the liver from the fat we eat and also from the fatty acids mobilised from the fat tissue. With no carbs 'Ketones' will make up around 75% of the energy our brains use and the rest of the energy will come from glycerol, which is being released from the fat tissue when triglycerides are broken down and from glucose synthesised in the liver from the amino acids in protein. So a diet low in carbohydrates and high in protein and healthy fat will provide plenty of fuel for the brain.

Also, forgot to mention that there is actually research that suggests your brain works better and more efficiently on Ketones than it does on glucose and that traditionally ketosis is the natural state of the human body given that 99.9% of human history did not have access to the carbohydrates we have today.