• Iron_Feline
    Iron_Feline Posts: 10,750 Member
    Options
    cheesestrings.jpg

Cheese string in England - I love it :love:
  • CapnDonkey
    CapnDonkey Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    It is amusing the subtle differences between UK and American English.

US versus UK:

Truck - Lorry
    Flashlight - Torch
    Candy - Sweets

And don't get me started about adding 'u's to words that don't need them: Color, flavor, favorite, etc. :)

All said I love the British accents. And the British comedy.
  • JenniferMary_9169
    Options
    This girl will NEVER give in to the metric system :noway:

*giggle* :tongue:
  • olDave
    olDave Posts: 557 Member
    Options
    "I'm mad about my flat" means a very different thing on this side of the pond. LOL.
  • lporter229
    lporter229 Posts: 4,907 Member
    Options
    I did not see it clarified on here, but a cup is 8 fluid ounces.

However, although I am in the US, as a chemist, I declare the metric system to make infinitely more sense and believe that we are stupid for not adopting it.

I also think that coffee creamer is vile and I love English breakfast tea.

Hmm, maybe I am living in the wrong place...
  • Sqeekyjojo
    Sqeekyjojo Posts: 704 Member
    Options
    Us slightly older ones (40) ended up bilingual where weights and measures were concerned - we learned metric at school, but imperial at home.

It's like trying to speak a different language sometimes here, it's not a bad thing, it's only fair to try and use the words the majority of people on the site use, but you aren't going to get me to change my spelling.

But I like it here.
  • FitnessCharl
    Options
    You mean a "cup" measurement isn't just the biggest cup you can find in your cupboard? Whattttttttttttttttttttt????
  • smantha32
    smantha32 Posts: 6,990 Member
    Options
    coffee creamer - what is that?

It's just powdered milk in different flavors. I like vanilla. :smile:
  • Phoenixchichima
    Options