UK vs North American Cultural Differences

Options

Replies

• madworld1
    madworld1 Posts: 524
    Options
    Don't even get me started on the American ineptitude and general disrespect they give to tea.

Ugh.

Best thing ever is tea that is sweet & on ice :)

Especially if it's Raspberry or peach flavored. ;)
  • psych0kitty
    psych0kitty Posts: 313
    Options
    Should we even start talking about "fannies?" Probably not.

I'm a scientist and I hate the imperial system, even though I live in the U.S. I've signed several petitions to try and get the U.S. government to switch to metric, but it's never gonna happen. Growing up with one system makes it complicated to switch to another. I still can't really feel what a kg is, but I know how a pound feels, ya know?

I like my PG Tips with half & half and a bit of sugar. But I'm not an ordinary American. Do you U.K. people have half & half? It's half cream and half milk. I put it in my coffee every day.

I'd like to thank you Brits for:
    Strong milky tea
    Beans on toast
    "Chips" with malt vinegar
    Bacon butty
    Tangy strong aged cheese and Branston pickle sandwiches
    Misfits, Being Human, AbFab, Shameless, Gordon Ramsey, The IT Crowd, Doctor Who, and so many more great shows (programs)
  • Iron_Feline
    Iron_Feline Posts: 10,750 Member
    Options

Oh and being pissed in England is drunk and being pissed in the US means mad. Whenever one of us would say we were pissed, we'd ask "are you pissed in the English sense or the American sense."

Unless you add the word off. Pissed off = mad in England :bigsmile:
  • IamSheaMc
    IamSheaMc Posts: 1,310 Member
    Options
    And don't get me started about adding 'u's to words that don't need them: Color, flavor, favorite, etc. :)
    WE didn't add them - YOU took them out! :wink:

I hate when auto correct tries to correct my "colour, favour, programme" ect I will never conform!
  • avababy05
    avababy05 Posts: 930 Member
    Options