I am a girl, and I want to build muscle

Options

Replies

• briggsy13
    briggsy13 Posts: 161 Member
    Options
    I did Chalean Extreme and did it through 3 times until I was able to lift heavy, cause when I started I didn't have the equipment to do what I do now.
  • Sarauk2sf
    Sarauk2sf Posts: 28,072 Member
    Options
    Read Sarauk2sf's and BurtHurtz's post and stop bantering with the people who told you to look into it on your own.

Eat at maintenance, use a TDEE calculator and try out what it spits out for a month or so and see what your body does, adjust up or down from there
    Eat adequate protein to ensure maintenance/building of LBM aka MUSCLE, 1-1.5g/lb of LBM or 0.8g/lb of bodyweight
    Eat adequate fat, roughly 0.3g/lb of bodyweight
    Fill in the rest of your calories however you choose, protein and fat are minimums, carbs are preferential
    Look into Stronglifts 5x5 or Starting Strength or if you're a complete newb to lifting check out New Rules of Lifting for Women*, either way if you're not familiar with the lifts/movements google the hell out of it or buy the books
    If you enjoy cardio, do it, just not excessively, a HIIT or LISS workout here or there isn't going to hurt your gainz, but if your lifts start crapping out, cut back the cardio
    *You'll probably ditch it after a few months, most people I know rarely complete the entire program, they move on to something more advance after a couple months

OP: While I did not write the thread linked, it is a good thread to start getting an understanding of your caloric needs. My thread is actually linked in that post and goes into a bit more detail - but basically what is explained above is very good advice and is in line with both threads as well as giving you more details as to lifting and exercise.

Cliffs: Eat enough, get enough protein, train hard.
  • dodgetrukdude
    Options