Lifting at age 40 and beyond

Options
So I just turned 40, which is fine because I am fitter now than I was for many years in my 30s, and over the last few years I've lost 3 stone. Yay.

However, I am having a very different workout experience to when I last trained regularly which was in my 20s (yeah, my 30s were pretty stressy and unhealthy).

14 months ago I started Karate; I'm now proud to be a brown belt. 12 months ago I started lifting free weights. About 4 months into that, I got sacroiliac strain ... twice. That was a wake-up call to the fact that my body needs a bit more care than it did in my 20s!!! I now have a great relationship with a great Osteopath who has helped me continue training, recover my back, and choose exercises to reduce stress on it and strengthen my core.

She's also helped me with my rotator cuffs. Tennis elbow. Tendonitis. And a lot of other crap.

I quickly learned my lesson to not overtrain. I reached a happy balance when I was doing 2x Karate sessions a week and 2x lifting (full body workouts with compound exercises). I have recently moved to 1x Karate and 2x lifting a week as I have been getting just too damn tired.

I warm up well and stretch out after each and every workout. I always lift with a training partner who meticulously watches my form to ensure my back is straight, my knees are in the right place, that I have a spot where I need it, etc. I know when I need to rest. I try to get enough protein, especially straight after a workout.

So what am I asking? Well I guess I want to know, is it just me? Do any other people around this age find they battle against fatigue and injury despite their best efforts to be sensible about training? I am quite aware of all the magnificent-looking lifting specimens at age 40+ - I know what CAN be achieved! - but I'm interested in those that have overcome or are fighting against similar annoying hinderances, and how they feel about it / handle it.

Never give up, and all that :D

Replies