Running...help or hinder weight loss??

Options
Hi,

I am still fairly new to running. I usually run/walk 4-5 times a week for about 2.5 miles. I have been doing this for about 6 weeks or so. I am not really seeing any weight loss. Just wondering if you think it helps or hinders you?? I know that I am building muscle, just wondering when I will be able to lose at least another 10 pounds to be in my healthy bmi. Sometimes when I am unusally stressed (like yesterday) I will do a couple of runs. Maybe I am overtraining??? What are the signs of that?? I have my calories set at 1700 but almost never eat over 1400. Just have such a curbed appetite since I started running... Thank you so much!!

Replies

• omma_to_3
    omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
    Options
    It has certainly helped me. I do think your rest days are important. Do you do other exercises on days you're not running, or do you actually rest? I've found that I have my biggest losses if I take 2 days in a row off. Healing muscles retain water that masks weight loss.
  • skinnygurl02
    skinnygurl02 Posts: 176 Member
    Options
    No, actually I don't rest. I will often do something like Jillian Michaels 30DS dvd... maybe I will try a 2 day rest this week. Thanks alot:)
  • dad106
    dad106 Posts: 4,868 Member
    Options
    First off.. You are not gaining muscle.. not even a teeny tiny bit. Unless you doing heavy strength training, eating in a calorie surplus and taking steroids, there is no way muscle is being gained.

Second, what you are prob. seeing is water retention from the muscles healing... which means you are going to see the scale go up temporarily, but it won't last long.

Third, how are you measuring calorie burns from the runs? It could be possible that you are overestimating calories burned and eating too much.. and that will also hinder weight loss.