NEED TO LOSE 100 LBS OR MORE !

Options

Replies

• RobinsEgg
    RobinsEgg Posts: 3,702 Member
    Options
    Just wanted to drop the word phalarope in this thread for those oldies who might be on vacation and still looking for this thread.

I just got back from swimming for 25 minutes. It was such a great feeling and I had the pool all to myself. Did a "Chuck Berrie" duck walk across the pool at the 3 foot deep section a couple of times. Its hard for me to bend at the knees but the water makes it easier to do. I felt like a rock star!
  • Maddalen101
    Maddalen101 Posts: 307 Member
    Options
    Whew, found this thread. I posted to it early this month, and seem to have gotten in just under the wire.
    I started with this website at the beginning of the month. I have more than 100 lbs to lose - so much, it feels like I have another person wrapped around me.
    I also have one replaced hip, severe asthma, achy knees, and a very sedentary life (I work full-time as a writer).
    In addition , I have a very demanding hubby who currently is recovering from surgery, but even when not recovering, is still quite demanding.

So: here's what I've been doing:
    1) Since August 1, I've been using this website to track my food, honestly and without judgment. If I eat more than the day's allotment, that's fine. I needed to know what and how I eat.
    2) Since yesterday, I have committed to eating within the caloric allotment. As I have a vicious sweet tooth and am a huge nibbler (my mother calls it "hand to mouth disease"), that means keeping a LOT of fruit at work. So far, it seems to be helping.
    3) I am working my way up to being able to walk on the treadmill. Ideally, I'd like to do 20 minutes a day. For now, just hopping on (well. more like lumbering on) and doing 5 to 10 minutes will be a victory.

As you can probably tell, my philosophy is baby steps. Trying to do everything in one swell foop will not help me achieve my goal.