Rottweiller

Options

Replies

• eddysuchydvm
    eddysuchydvm Posts: 110 Member
    Options
    I have no idea the cost, and I'm big on rescue and adoption, BUT... If I were going to get a dog from a breeder, I'd look for one that shows the dogs, has them registered with AKC, has the parents tested for congenital defects like hips, eyes and any other breed specific problems, and has a laundry list of requirements for new owners.

If I buy a dog, I want to be sure they breeders are making an effort to better the breed, and aren't just looking to make a buck of their poochies.

Good breeders are usually involved in rescue, too. My Peke is a rescue, but the president of the rescue group, and his foster mom, is a breeder who shows dogs, too.

Well said!
  • eddysuchydvm
    eddysuchydvm Posts: 110 Member
    Options
    Pet insurance...20-or so bucks a month. I am a veterinarian and I see a lot of people who love their pets and want to help them...and many times, they can afford to do so because they invested in health insurance for their pet.

Can you recommend an insurance company? For ME. For my 10 year old mutt? Is it too late?? I think we're at the point she will inevitably have health problems.

There's your answer!

www.gopetplan.com. I have all five of my pets insured, and they have absolutely terrific customer service. Check their website for free quotes.
  • firstsip
    firstsip Posts: 8,399 Member
    Options
    If she doesn't get one from a shelter, she is a horrible person who hates animals and kicks babies for fun.

Who wants a puppy, anyway? All they do is breath crap-breath all over you, eat your house, and poo everywhere. Why not a nice, younger adult who would really appreciate your friend literally saving them from being killed by some college dropout in a lab coat?

THINK OF OF THE POOR ANIMALS!

This guy is an idiot!

Methinks someone didn't get the joke... you'd think Jesus' avatar having a DOG in it would have made it easier to get ;)