PTs? People who have had PTs? People who would like a PT?

Hi,

I realize there is a chance of my getting ripped a new one here, but I'd like some honest feedback.

I am just starting out as a Personal Trainer, and trying to learn all I can. From reading the boards quite a bit as of late, I can see there are definitely a number of people who know a hell of a lot of stuff, and who have been through a hell of a lot.

If you are a PT, had a PT, have a PT, want a PT, want to be one, or even have any sort of (relatively) objectively formed opinion in regards to personal training, I would like to hear it. What makes a good PT? What makes you respond well to them? What is a huge no-no (please don't make this the bulk of the thread though! I know it is easy :) ) - What suggestions do you have?

I am looking to mainly train those new to a fitness program, older adults, etc. Generally people who are just starting out and want to have a comfortable atmosphere in which to create healthy habits, or people with limited mobility looking to increase their functional fitness.

I read a lot, I continue to learn- I know that's something that is never finished.

I want to be a great trainer. Any help would be appreciated :)

Replies

• vanillarama
    vanillarama Posts: 101 Member
    bump?
  • drmerc
    drmerc Posts: 2,603 Member
    I like watching the PTs at the gym have the client balance on a ball, while holding dumbbells doing jumping jacks and other crazy exercises like that.
    It entertains me while I work out