My new obsession...Spinning!

Options

Replies

• RBXChas
    RBXChas Posts: 2,708 Member
    Options
    It took only one spin class for me to be hooked! They are incredible workouts and they have even helped with my running too!

I'll agree - Spinning helped build my cardio base so that I became a better runner :happy:
  • RBXChas
    Options
    I love all the great input on Spinning! I'm a certified instructor and teach a few classes a week. What others said about the rear - it definitely will get used to it. It also helps to sit those "sit bones' further back on the seat. For anyone who is hesitant to try it, please know that the ride is customizable - meaning you do what you can when you can. The instructor is there to lead the way and provide the direction. You choose your intensity. I recommend showing up a few minutes early and asking the instructor to help you set up the bike so it fits you. They can also give you ways to modify the ride at times when the exertion levels are higher.

^This, especially the part about the "sit bones." A lot of people lean too far forward and rest their weight on their arms, which is not only incorrect form but puts a lot of stress plus creates a lot of friction on your crotch. It's not very comfortable for men or women. If you sit back a bit and let your legs do the work, you'll be much more comfortable.

I meant to add earlier that my legs have become much more defined due to Spinning. My husband is impressed :love:
  • Vonnie2006
    Vonnie2006 Posts: 246 Member
    Options
    I just REDISCOVERED spin! There is a spin/yoga studio newly opened in my building. Yesterday I took a spin fusion class (30 minutes spin/30 minutes yoga). It was AMAZING! I was dripping sweat, legs felt wobbly and I burned 775 calories! I have already scheduled my next weeks classes and am rearranging things in my budget so that I can purchase a membership!
  • jturnerx
    jturnerx Posts: 325 Member
    Options